Elementary faculty & staff profiles

2inchwms_logo_color_rgbNancy Kestek, Elementary Program Director, nkestek@woodinvilemontessori.org

Read Nancy’s profile here.

Liz Hoyer, Upper Elementary Curriculum Director, lhoyer@woodinvillemontessori.org

Read Liz’s profile here.

Innovation & Design Lab & Aquaponics, Bryce Aktepy

baktepy@woodinvillemontessori.org
Western Washington University (psychology and sociology)
Training and work as ABA therapist in early intervention programs
Hired at WMS—2006

Head Co-Teacher, Laura Ascolese, Juniper (LE)lascolesestaffwebprofile2016

lascolese@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (Elementary Education) University of Delaware
MEd (Elementary Education, Montessori Concentration) Plymouth State University
Montessori Credentials – Elementary I AMS certified through MEIPN
Hired at WMS—2001

Teacher, Alexa Boss, Spanish Language (LE & SEC)

BA (Spanish, emphasis in Latin American Studies) University of Oregon
Hired at WMS—2017

hillarybrestarweb2016Teacher, Hillary Brestar, Spruce (LE)

hbrestar@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (Elementary Education) Washington State University
Endorsements (Early Childhood, Reading) Washington State University
MEd University of Washington
Montessori Credentials—Elementary I
Hired at WMS—2000; 2016

Teacher, LeeAnn Brown, Magnolia (LE)

lbrown@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (English Education) Florida State University
Montessori credentials, Elementary I & Level I Montessori Applied for Children at Risk (MACAR) training
Hired at WMS—2006

rachelelliswebprofile2016Co-Teacher, Rachel Ellis, Cypress (UE)

rellis@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (Biology), Bates College
Montessori credentials, Elementary I and II (in progress)
WMS Alumna
Hired at WMS—2016

Teacher Amanda Freerksen, North Creek

BA (Spanish Literature), New York University
California Multiple Subjects BCLAD, San Diego State University
Montessori credentials, AMI Diploma, ages 3-6, Montessori Institute of San Diego; MEIPN Elementary in progress
Hired at WMS—2018

afujimotostaffwebprofile2016Teacher, Amy Fujimoto, Willow (LE)

afujimoto@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (English),  University of Washington
Montessori credentials, Early Childhood & Elementary I
Teacher trainer for the Montessori Education Institute of the Pacific Northwest, field consultant for new teachers and board member
Hired at WMS—2000

Teacher, Robin Held, Juniper (LE)

rheld@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (psychology), University of Washington
Early Childhood and Lower Elementary Montessori credentials
Hired at WMS—2008

vjuarezstaffwebprofile2016Teacher, Veronica Juarez, Willow (LE)

vjuarez@woodinvillemontessori.org
Veterinary degree, Mexico’s City University
Montessori credentials in process, Elementary I
Hired at WMS—2014

Teacher, Laila Kabani, Cypress (UE)

lkabani@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA, (English Literature), St. Xavier’s College,  Ahmedabad, India
Masters degree (Islamic Studies), University of Mumbai; Masters in Teaching, University of Washington (Seattle)
Montessori training at MEIPN
K-8 Elementary Washington state Certification; English Language (ELL) endorsement
Hired at WMS—2013

Teacher Durga Kanjinghat, Spruce (LE)

dkanjinghat@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (math), University of Madras, India
Medical transcription training, Chennai, India
Early Childhood diploma, North American Montessori Center; Lower Elementary credential (in process)

jlancasterstaffwebprofile2016Teacher, Jeni Lancaster, Cypress (UE)

jlancaster@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (Cultural Anthropology), Western Washington University
Montessori credentials, Elementary I & II
Hired at WMS—2013

Teacher, Matthew Long, Cedar (UE)

mlong@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (Elementary Education, with a focus on Social Studies), Wartburg College
MA (Language Arts), University of New England)
Montessori credentials— Elementary I & II from Montessori Education Center of the Rockies
Hired at WMS—2018

Teacher, Kaitlyn McElrath, Cedar (UE)

kmcelrath@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (Theatre Arts), Gustavus Adolphus College
Montessori credential (in process), Elementary I & II
WMS Alumna
Hired at WMS—2015

Drama Instructor & EL Program Assistant, Kylie McElrath

(Bio to come)
WMS Alumna
Hired at WMS—2017

Faculty Intern, Emily Murray, Hawthorn (LE)

MFA (Playwriting), Columbia University
MSW University of Washington
Montessori credentials: currently working toward Lower Elementary credential, MEIPN
Hired at WMS—2018

Faculty Intern Marissa Roecks, Cypress (UE), Orienteering Coach & Alumni Coordinator

mroecks@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (Psychology, Education, Biology), Agnes Scott College
Early Childhood Montessori Credential, MEIPN; Music Together Credential, Music Together® & Positive Discipline Classroom Educator, 2016
Certified Orienteering Specialist, Orienteering USA
WMS Alumna 2006
Hired at WMS—2012

Art Specialist, Carol Roorbach (LE/UE)

croorbach@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (Visual Arts), New England College
MS (Art Education), Alfred University
MFA (Ceramic Art), New York State College of Ceramics at Alfred University
Hired at WMS—2005

Assistant, Bindu Sivalanka (LE)
Teacher,  Alison Stern, Magnolia (LE)

BA Goddard College
M.Ed. University of Washington Bothell
Washington state K-6 reading endorsement
Montessori credentials, AMS Elementary I, MEIPN
Hired at WMS—2018

Music specialist, Andre Thomas (UE)

Hired at WMS—2016

Program Assistant, Trinh Tran (UE)

Hired at WMS—2017

Teacher, Carlos Valencia,  Spanish Language (UE) & soccer coach

See Secondary pages for more about Carlos.

Teacher, Laura Webb, Hawthorn (LE)

lwebb@woodinvillemontessori.org
BA (English Literature), Boston University
MS (Special Education), University of North Dakota-Grand Forks (in process)
Montessori credentials, Elementary I; Montessori Applied for Children at Risk (MACAR) training
Hired at WMS—2011

twestphalstaffwebprofile2016Teacher, Taylor Westphal, Cedar (UE)

twestphal@woodinvillemontessori.org
BS (Earth and Space Sciences), University of Washington
Montessori credentials, Elementary I & II
Hired at WMS—2013